Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Calling all Teen Readers

And now a post from The Elephant's Trunk young adult expert, Sarah:

Need a YA Fix? Check out these great titles!

         If you haven’t heard about Across the Universe, it’s time you did. This hot new title, #7 on the New York Time’s Children’s Books Bestseller List this week, will have you riveted from page one. Meet Amy, a normal teenager who is cryogenically frozen and stowed on the spaceship Godspeed for a 300-year journey to a new planet far from Earth. Meet Elder, the future leader of the inhabitants of Godspeed who finds Amy when she is mysteriously awoken only 250 years into the trip. The habits and beliefs of both Amy and Elder are challenged, and their lives threatened, as they try to unravel the mystery behind her awakening and in the process uncover secrets, lies and a plot that could destroy the entire ship.  Great for fans of Matched, Ender’s Game and the Hunger Games series.

     Revolution, by Jennifer Donnelly, qualifies as my favorite book that came out this fall. Donnelly skillfully weaves the stories of Andi, a modern teenaged Brooklynite struggling with the loss of her younger brother and Alexandrine, a young French girl in charge of the last dauphin’s care in the time of the Revolution.  I don’t want to say too much about the book for fear of ruining a great read, so let me just say you should read it. And then drop by the store or send me an email and we can discuss it! Have you already read this but want another great book about the French Revolution? We also have The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner and the ever classic A Tale of Two Cities.
Now, for all of you who can’t get enough of paranormal romance (think Twilight, Fallen and Hush Hush), how about Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan? Nastasya, immortal and usually loving it, reaches her limit of indulgence and heads to a retreat (read: rehab!) in Massachusetts. That’s right, immortal rehab. While Nastasya tries to find inner peace, she also finds a good looking Viking named Reyn. I swear this book is like candy.

Wait, what if you don’t like immortal-on-retreat-meets-Viking-god candy? Then how about this: The Eternal Ones, by Kirsten Miller. Haven Moore hails from a god fearing town in Tennessee, where she’s taught that the fiery, tragic visions she has of her past life can’t mean anything but trouble. But when Haven recognizes notorious playboy Iain Morrow on TV from her visions, she heads to NYC to track him down and find out the truth about her past lives and her future with him. Is he really her eternal love? Or a murderer on the run? Haven finds herself caught between desire for Iain and the promises of help from a mysterious society and has to decide whom to trust and fast or she’s destined to meet another fiery end! Ahh! I get anxious just writing about it!

We have more great new titles arriving almost daily at the Elephant’s Trunk. Want suggestions about what to read next? Stop in 10-5 Mon.-Sat. and 11-4 Sun. and we’ll be happy to recommend books for young adults, the young at heart, or any age, really.

No comments:

Post a Comment